• Season 5 starts... Now

    Hello, Nynthixia here

    Told you few days ago I wasn't going to reveal the season 5 before the time would come. Well today time has come since I finished the songs for CDHS2 and CD29.5.

    Next season 5 song you will get is the one with CUL and will be called "Imperial Banquet". It will be part of CD30... Which doesn't have any name and for which near half of the titles are missing in the tracklist file. So it's a huge work in progress.

    Now comes the question - what will differentiate seasons 4 and 5 when it's not FL Studio?

     

    That may be hardly believable with all what I said the previous months but... Few weeks ago (this happened at the end of July actually), I bought the premium update version of VOCALOID5.
    Another question that may come is why did I do that when I said earlier that chances I'd get it would be near 0?

    There are actually 2 main reasons:

    1) the first one is a sort of fear that V3 banks especially get discontinued by YAMAHA for if ever V6 would get out. Personally I don't think this would be a good move from their part because they would lose a lot of singers.
    2) the second one is that I had the confirmation every company for which I have at least one voicebank seems to have put VOCALOID engine on the side. Internet? Out for V5. 1ST PLACE? CeVIO. AHS? SynthV. EXIT TUNES? No further news. Gynoid? Speaking of going to SynthV and the distributor for Xin Hua in China seems to be "dead"?

    Add to this that at the time the engine was in a sale period. So I had to pay... Almost the same price as for my VEGAS update.

    Now you know why my credit card got hurt recently. This + VEGAS + the issue of the hard drive...

    Season 5 will thus add 2 singers to the list: VY1 and Kaori. They will appear in CD30. VY1 will have a deadlined song for September 1st, along with Wistaria (not the same song for both though). Their pages will appear during late August (time I design the chibis + will probbaly remake the introduction pictures since VY1 has no official avatar so it may be weird compared to the others)

    For the ones saying me "but you also have Amy, Chris, Ken, VY2, CYBER DIVA and SONGMAN"... Yes indeed I have their codes. I just didn't install them nor authorized them on the computer. Because I can't manage well English in the engine and I can't manage well male vocals. So only VY1 and Kaori will be used out of the 8 vocals.

     

    What it may change?

    For UTAU songs, nothing will actually change. The working method will remain the same.
    It's for VOCALOID songs there will be some other steps. Until now, I wrote my file in V4 then rendered it with V4. For season 5 songs, the file will first be written in V4 for a vsqx file. Any file using Kaori will use Lily V3 as a placeholder, any file using VY1 will use IA ROCKS as a placeholder. Even though the part names will tell which real singer will be behind the track. Then, once the file is done in V4, it will be opened in V5 and saved into a vpr file. If Kaori or VY1 are used, the vocals will be changed. The whole thing will then be rendered. Expect a different result than the ones you heard until there with V3 and V4 renderings.
    For XSY capellas, I mostly used the method to save some CPU. Not for creating a new vocal by itself. Of course, this won't be possible anymore in V5. So for season 5 songs, whenever a hybrid will be needed, the tracks will be duplicated and each vocal part will sing (for example if I wanted a hybrid Yukari Jun/Yukari Lin, you'll get 4 tracks instead of 2: 2 with Jun vocal and 2 with Lin vocal).

    When you'll request the files of capellas for season 5 songs, you'll be asked if you use V3, V4 or V5 editor. If you use V3 or V4 but not V5, I'll give you the V4 vsqx only, like a compatibility patch. If you own V5, it's the vpr file which will be sent to you. If you use UTAU or any other vocal synth, I'll rather sending a vsqx file version opened with V3 editor, and with kana retranscribed into romaji (there is a plugin out there that can make such conversions that requires these treatments).

     

    See you in few days~
    Nynthixia